Several factors determine how long a DUI or DWI will remain on your driving record in Virginia. The time varies depending on what type of offense you were charged with, whether the DUI was classified as an “aggravated” offense, and how many points you received from the DMV hearing. If you have been charged with a DUI, you must hire a washington dc dui attorney.
One of the most common factors in determining how long a DUI or DWI will remain on your driving record is the length of time since the incident. This is usually essential in determining how long a DUI stays on your record. For example, a judge would likely consider it a long time if you were caught driving under the influence within several months.
Suppose you do not have a valid Virginia driver’s license and are not eligible for an auto insurance discount. In that case, the length of time since your fairfax virginia dui first offense will create another type of delay. Usually, it will take about 30 days for the DMV to process your application for an unrestricted license.
How long does a DUI stay on your driving record?
If you were convicted of DUI or DWI in Virginia, your conviction would stay on your driving record for three years, and you will need to hire a fairfax virginia dui lawyer. The incident would remain on your record for ten years if you had an “Aggravated” DUI or DWI in Virginia. However, if you plead guilty to a “non-aggravated” DUI or DWI in Virginia, your conviction will remain on your record for three years from the date of the hearing.
In Virginia, when a judge finds you guilty of DUI, it does not mean you have to pay any fine. However, in many states, including Virginia, the judge must suspend your driver’s license if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).
Does a DUI go away?
If you were charged with DUI in Virginia and had a hearing, the charge has not gone away until you were found guilty or if the district attorney decided to drop the charges.
Do points affect how long a DUI will stay on your record?
Many people ask this question, how many points is a DUI? Knowing how many points will be associated with the conviction is essential. The DMV of Virginia was not allowed to issue points before July 1, 2007. The number of DMV points is based on the classification of your offense and your BAC or BAL result at the time of the arrest. For example, a first-time DUI in Virginia has a range of 4-6 points. However, if you were arrested for DUI and have a BAC level of .15% or higher, you will receive 6 points from the DMV.
When you take a driver’s license hearing in Virginia, the DMV will assign points based on the severity of your offense. If you have more than 6 points on your driving record, then the DMV will suspend your license for six months. If you have 12 or more points, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license for 12 months. The points on your driving record will remain on your record for two years.
If you were charged with a DUI or DWI in Virginia and received more than 6 points from the DMV hearing, the best thing you can do is get help from an experienced attorney. An experienced attorney will help you fight the DMV suspension of your driver’s license so that your conviction does not become part of your permanent driving record. Your attorney will also protect your rights as a driver so that any criminal charges are dismissed and you receive reduced or dismissed penalties.